Friends + Friday

546417_870575537554_1066730734_n

Two of my favorite things are friends and Friday. What better than to bring the two together! I met Najiah in Bali at our Teacher Training and I was immediately struck by her sense of calm, the beauty of her poses and how she challenged herself every day. Every fear we were confronted with during our month together Najiah did it with a smile and with grace. She comforted us who cried, and listened to those who needed to speak, she exemplified the most invaluable lessons I have learned in Yoga, the art of giving, being selfless and love. I am beyond thrilled she is my first Friday Friend post! If you are ever in Singapore be sure to reach out for the BEST places to eat. I was only with her for 5 hours but I must have had 6 meals, it was fabulous. If I was to name the one gem Singapore has it is hands down Najiah.

+Hometown: Singapore
+Favorite destination: London or Italy
+Favorite food: Oh God. Too many. But if I had to pick one, I guess it’s real fresh sashimi.
+Favorite Yoga pose: Dancer pose. Just because it’s just so beautiful! And requires an incredible amount of both strength and flexibility! It’s all about the balance (:

526211_10151364388675130_1021967882_n
+How did you discover Yoga? Through a friend at work when I was worried I was putting on the weight in a sedentary working environment
+Why do you practice Yoga? For the calmness and serenity it brings me during and after practice. And of course for its endorphins. (:
+What inspires you? Beauty. And people who are true to themselves and others and who pursue what they truly want to do. I find there is some kinda fire and beauty in that.
+Where do you go to find calm and serenity? The Yoga Shala.
+If you had an entire day to show a loved what would you show them in Singapore? Arab St area, the Esplanade, Robertson Quay, China Town, Little India, my home.

+Where and what would you eat? Too many things oh we’d be so stuffed. Dim Sum, nasi lemak, chicken rice, hokkien mee, black pepper crab. The list is endless. Go check out ieatishootipost.sg!

+What is the best kept secret in your current city? Me. Well, okay, I believe it’s my grandmother’s cooking.

Life in a nutshell:

My morning routine is…. Snooze till I can’t snooze anymore. ):
The world needs more…. Love.
I believe in…. Being true to myself.
Love is…. Selfless.
I can’t get enough of…. Learning. About myself, life, food, yoga, anything that interests me really.
Yoga is… something I’m really thankful I found in life for helping me find some balance in a crazy world.
In 2013 I want to…. Oh gosh, I just set my goals (thankfully) few weeks ago. One of them is to practise self-love. Many a time I think I don’t appreciate myself for who I am and am too self-critical, especially when my self esteem isn’t great due to constantly being told I was never good enough since young. So this year, I’m going to tell myself I’m beautiful and give myself little treats to show self-appreciation. (:
My mantra for life is…. to be a good person, someone I’d respect and can trust.

Thank Najiah : )

Follow Najiah for inspirational updates and where she is teaching Yoga!

Facebook

Tumblr

Twitter

 

Leave a Reply

