Motivating Mondays

bilde(1)

Well it’s technically Tuesday here but still Monday in Hawaii! Yesterday flew by! I have a feeling that is how my week will look. And I am just fine with that, because next week is vacation! Easter break where I can read, nap and cook up yummy treats in the mountains. But to get us going this week I’ve got a bit of sugar toxicity, TEDx inspiration and a list of books that should be on everyone’s spring cleaning list.

+ Jack LaLanne

Jack LaLanne was a fitness, exercise, nutritional expert and motivational speaker born in 1914. He was a self proclaimed “sugarholic” and “junk food addict” until he turned 15 when he changed his life around and became known as the ‘godfather of fitness’. If he thought there was a sugar and junk food crisis back in 1930 I would love to hear what he has to say about 2013! He wrote numerous books and hosted plenty of nutrition and fitness shows. Recently I have been exploring the risks of sugar in our diets, and luckily this week my nutritional course will be exploring this very topic. The following clip is Jack LaLanne discussing how your life would change drastically if you cut sugar out for just 5 days. The fact that he addressed this back in the 1960’s and we are still being challenged with the same illnesses and issues is beyond me. I just hope we still wont be trying to convince people of the dangers of white sugar in 2060.

If you would like some inspiration on how to eliminate sugar from your diet and still enjoy the sweetness of life read everything Sarah Wilson has about sugar.

+ TEDx

Last week I posted this video clip on my facebook. I raved about it to everyone. I truly believe in the power of growing your own garden, eating locally sourced produce and  becoming more aware of our food products.  Ron Finley and his team are miracle workers when it comes changing small plots of land in South Central L.A and instilling food values in the community. I could listen to him talk all day. He captivated me with his first sentence.

If you are new to TEDx here is a  playlists to get you inspired and motivated.

New to Ted?

+ Spring Cleaning

Tomorrow is the first day of spring! Although Norway is still covered in layers of ice and a couple feet of snow, I will still be celebrating. And although I wont be cleaning out my closet just yet and bringing out the shorts and dresses, I will be spring cleaning my mind. And I have just the right books to get me clearing, releasing, forgiving and renewing.

-Anything Danielle LaPorte but more specifically the Fire Starters and the Desire Map.

Yoga Ph.D by Carol Horton

The Four Agreements by Don Miguel Ruiz

Return To Love– Marianne Williamson

Lets just say I will be busy!

Monday Mantra: Open Body, Open Mind. That is the beauty of life.

Happy Monday/Tuesday! xox

 

2 thoughts on “Motivating Mondays

Leave a Reply

